People in New Jersey will tell you that one of the only things that stink worse than the northern turnpike is getting pulled over for DUI on that same stretch of road. Did you know that recent changes have made New Jersey DUI penalties even tougher? Don’t get caught with out-of-date information. Here are some of the most significant changes:
• Less than a year ago, state legislature dropped the blood alcohol level from .10% to .08% to be charged with DUI
• Along with this reduction in BAC, an entirely new charge was created to distinguish between drivers who tested between .08% - .10% and those who tested over .10%.
• Drivers testing between .08% and .10% are subject to a 3 month suspension as opposed to those testing over .10%, who face 6 months to a full year suspension.
• New law mandates that after a 3rd or subsequent offense, the driver will spend 90 days in jail.
Be sure to ask a New Jersey DUI lawyer to fill you in on the latest changes in the law and don’t let a mistake stink up your life.
Now one of the top on-line publishers in the world, LifeTips offers tips to millions of monthly visitors. Our mission mission is to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Expert writers earn dough for what they know. And exclusive sponsors in each niche topic help us make-it-all happen.