According to a recent study, Texas has more square miles of inland water than any other state. With all of this to cover, there are many laws regarding boating while intoxicated in the State of Texas:
• In Texas, it is illegal to operate a boat with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher (the same as that for a DWI)
• Texas law establishes stiff penalties for boating while intoxicated (BWI) including:
o First conviction carries a fine up to $2,000 and/or jail time up to 180 days
o Second conviction carries a fine up to $4,000 and/or jail time up to one year
o Third conviction carries a fine up to $10,000 and/or jail time of 2-10 years.
• If you are found to be boating while intoxicated in Texas in a vessel that has an engine over 50 horsepower, your license will automatically be suspended.
If you own a boat or personal watercraft in Texas, think twice before downing a few on the water.
Now one of the top on-line publishers in the world, LifeTips offers tips to millions of monthly visitors. Our mission mission is to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Expert writers earn dough for what they know. And exclusive sponsors in each niche topic help us make-it-all happen.